Posted in Mental Health Struggles, Miscellaneous

Well that was a week

It’s been a very up and down week, up at the beginning, right down for the middle and then back up and on weeks like that, it’s important not to lost this sense of positivity that I am trying desperately to cultivate in myself.

 

So I think it’s time to do a quick list of positives from this week, to remind myself that of them, because we all need to remember the light, when we feel it’s absence.

Positive: As bad as last week got, did after all get through it.

Positive: A doctor’s referral I was waiting on came through, while I am anxious about it, am glad it’s here.

Positive: After the ropey part of this week, my son’s behaviour settled and have had some lovely moments with him. This morning we were watching TV together all cuddled up and it was lovely.

Positive: My arm is healing up and the rest of my tattoo is being completed in 3 and a half weeks.

Positive: Lying in bed the other night, unable to sleep and my wife (the awesome Rosie) says these words “It’s ok not to be ok you know.” I couldn’t have made it as far as I have in the last three years without her and she is still in my corner.

Positive: TV and movies are really good at the moment. (Ok, this is trivial, but as a long time comic fan, seeing some stuff you’ve read turned into primetime tv is still a bit of a giddy joy and the novelty hasn’t worn off yet.)

Positive: Cheap toys at Asda: While shopping with my son last night, as well behaved as a 5 year old gets in a supermarket, I see these guys reduced to £3 each.

Marvel-Universe-Doctor-Octopus-Hasbro-Figure-Packaged-e1428273595420 Mints-1

My son loved Doc Ock and I have a fondness for forgotten 90’s heroes like Thunderstrike, so we got both. I’m not trying to buy good behaviour, but reward the behaviour I have seen. For less than the price of a comic,  he was happy for the rest of the night, playing with the other two and he’s twice as happy.

 

While I write this, he’s cuddled up with mummy and I can hear them together, that’s what happy sounds like.

 

Whenever it seems dark, whenever it seems like hope isn’t there and the walls are closing in, remember this can pass, you’re stronger than you think you are and you are not as alone as you think.

 

 

 

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

One thought on “Well that was a week

Leave a Reply

