Posted in Miscellaneous

Random thoughts on family and stuff

Had a family dinner last night. My mother had a big birthday and me and my son went. Already there was my sister-in-law and my younger brother.

My younger brother and I haven’t spoken for three years, three years ago I underwent a depression related breakdown, the effects of this are still with me, at the time my wife, the awesome Rosie asked for his help, leading to three years of silence. So there I was, my son, two people who I don’t think so highly of anymore, a virtual stranger of a sister in law and the guy who let my wife down, needless to say, an awkward hour or two.

I got home, annoyed, hungry and grateful to be back with my actual family (again the awesome Rosie, who didn’t go the meal, since she likes them less than I do and wasn’t well) and it’s made me realise that I do have family outside of the wife and the boy, whom I care for and who care for me. So I want to say how grateful I am for my wife’s sister and her fiance and their kids, who have treated me more like family in the last three years, than anyone I am related to by birth.

We all have people in our lives that we think of as family, we should be grateful for them. It seems in this world that love is often in short supply, so must be cultivated where it can be.

But make no mistake internet people, this is not a post with me being either angry or depressed. While I know my subconscious mind will do some shitty things to me over the next few days, I am positive. I will be at the gym tonight, tomorrow is friday and the weekend looks like a good one.

The things that have pulled me down before, may always do that. Knowing that I can’t control that is useful, but hard to accept. But they don’t have the power to keep me down.

And for no real reason, a picture of Spider-Ham

1SJQYsj

 

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

2 thoughts on “Random thoughts on family and stuff

  1. A sad reflection of how things are today. Family is what you make it and it would appear that you have quite a wonderful family by your side. As for the others…ten a penny.

Leave a Reply

