Posted in Miscellaneous

Electioneering

There’s a general election tomorrow.

I don’t know how to feel about it, being so utterly demoralised regarding the most recent votes I’ve seen the last 2 years. We’ve had the last election here in England, the Brexit vote, and the US election. Politics aside, I can only see it as the wrong result in each vote. Not a vote that I don’t agree with because of personal beliefs or any of that, but the wrong people won. Out of the two evils, the lesser one lost.

And here we are again, an election looms (an election that the person who called it, said wouldn’t exist) and I am no more optimistic than before. But I suppose that I must (if only to get it out of my head) speak my peace.

Vote. Please vote, too many people have died for this right, too many suffer who do not have it and as a citizen in this country you do have a responsibility. I’m sure everyone has their reasons for not, those who feel so disenfranchised from the political process in this country. To those who feel this way, my response is simple. Who’s fault is that?

Here’s the fact that we the people and the political classes have forgotten. They work for us.

That shouldn’t need saying, but there it is. They work for us. They are our servants and they exist solely to represent us and serve that interest. We refer to them as leaders, but in reality there job is to administrate the governing of this country. They are not heads of state (we have a monarchy for that, a figurehead one at that, mostly ceremonial) they are civil servants who we hire, pay for and fire. If they are not listening to you, then vote them out. If young people become heavier voters, they’ll have to list to them, if they don’t why should they? They work for us and it’s time we pointed that out to them and the only way to do that is vote. We get the government we deserve and I’m not pleased with what we’ve deserved so far.

Who to vote for is the choice you make, from one of the big two, to a smaller party, to spoiling your ballot. But the vote itself, needs to be there. We are the power in this country, don’t ever forget that.

 

Personally I am voting against the conservatives. I’m voting labour because to be honest, I like schools, I like the NHS and I like treating people like people and not pieces of shit. I don’t like war, rewarding failure or kowtowing to rich people who are a wasteful minority who do not add as much as they want us to think they do. This country is just that, not a business. We deserve a better class of government and I’m voting against the amoral creatures we have now, because I still have hope we can as a people do better. It’s not a question of personalities, or Corbyn over May, it’s this.. what’s happening now isn’t working. We need to change things, voting against the sitting government is a way of doing that. Get them to raise their game and do their job properly. Anyone with a job will admit that if we did 2% of the illegal, incompetent or straight up dodgy shit some politicians do, we’d get sacked, wouldn’t we?

Please vote. If you disagree with the rest of what I said (and if you do, thanks for at least giving me a fair shake here) agree with that. We need to vote and in great numbers to deserve and to get a better class of government. People have died to give us that chance and we owe it to them, not to waste that chance.

 

Okay, rant over

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

One thought on “Electioneering

  1. You reflected my feelings perfectly on the voting against the Conservatives. If Jeremy Corbyn was less rebel boy talk and more action, I’d be a lot more confident. Unfortunately we’re faced again with choosing the lesser evil. It’s a position that I don’t like.

Leave a Reply

