Posted in Comics n Stuff

Comics and other Stuff 2: FCBD Baby!

Hello internet people. It’s been something of a weekend, there’s been upset, stress, pain and lack of sleep and lots of…..

you know what? Fuck that. Truth is that much of the negatives are not new things and my son is fine and the MIGHTY Rosie is never to be counted out. So lets look at the positives.

1: The weather outside was lovely for most of the last 5 days. That’s right, in England, 5 days of sunshine. I was surprised too.

2: Free Comic Book Day was Saturday and I got some previews and one shots that were at least interesting.

During this, I got to spend time with a mate and had a pretty chilled afternoon.

3: Cosplay was a thing, after queuing for a LONG time to get in, I got to see a lady dressed as the Winter Soldier, a Naruto cosplayer, someone dressed as the movie scarlet witch and someone dressed as this version of Ms Marvel.

Sash and all. Sadly it was an overweight guy in his 20’s with a beard. It’s going to take a while to shift that mental image. But it was all sorts of fun and that made me smile.

4:  Watched Demolition Man and Speed as a double feature at home last night, that was fun. Those films stand up better than they deserve to.

5: I went to see Guardians of the Galaxy vol 2. (Quick capsule review GO SEE IT) as much as I enjoy the drama of Batman vs Superman, the pathos of Logan and the high stakes conflict of Captain America: Civil War, the main reason I enjoy comic related movies is three little letters F   U  N. That’s what vol 2 has in spades. From the opening music number, to the comedy and action taking turns and so many easter eggs and surprise characters it was an actual joy. This was what you want to see when you see a film with that title. It is a lot of high action and space opera with a comical edge.

I could spend a lot of time looking at the negatives, but that isn’t what helps me. I did a series of posts called for the geek in me, 2016 was awesome. To be honest, 2017 is looking the same way.

Find your 5 positives, find your joy.

See you guys later.

 

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

Leave a Reply

