Posted in Talking on a Terrible Tuesday

Talking on a Terrible Tuesday 6 – Slowly moving forward

Won’t lie internet people, am feeling down today.

Woke up not great, got ready, did some dad stuff and then was about to go to work. Then I realised that I didn’t want to, really didn’t want to.

Then I remembered something I used to think when I felt like this, I don’t have to want to go to work, I just have to go. It’s a shitty time at work early to mid April. Tax year ends and the new one starts and my job gets a whole lot more complicated. Add to that some less than fantastic clients and tonnes of technical difficulties and that’s not really helping. The fact is, I know that I don’t need to be down, but I am. That’s how low moods work isn’t it? No reason, but it’s there nonetheless. In the past I would’ve carried this with me for a few days, or let it beat me up by making it somehow my own fault. (I’m good at that.) But that’s not the case, this time what I am going to do is acknowledge this feeling, then move beyond it.

So it’s time to once again find my 5:

5 Reasons to be cheerful

1: Got a my marvel life post done, am at 1985 now. Not a big thing, but after this morning an attempt at completing something was needed.

2: On Sunday, was out with my mate Josh and we were in a shop where some kid with an america accent was throwing the mother and father of all tantrums, (the kid was like 11 or something) over a X-Box360 game. This went on whilst I was in a queue and a long time after. I even said “tonight, I’m going to give me son a big hug” because as he is sometimes less than his better self, he hasn’t pulled that shit with me in public.

3: My wife (The MIGHTY Rosie) had a good weight loss last week and we are both on track for more, we even started a 5 day plank challenge. The plank is when you start a push up, then stop and hold still for a long as you can, effectively holding up your own body weight.

4: After a half hour client meeting, I was seeing the client out and she asked if I had lost weight and told me that I looked fantastic. Yeah, those words. How do you even respond to that? I said thankyou, but kinda made my lunchtime to be honest.

5: I have only 4 days in work this week, then a four day weekend, then two more days and then another 4 day weekend. As stressful as work is going to be this week, have some downtime coming.

This 5 will pick my afternoon up. Just writing this down has done something.

Just remember, you have survived all of your bad days so far, if this is one of them, you’ll survive this too. We are stronger than we feel we are and we’re never as alone as we fear.

Stay strong internet people

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

Leave a Reply

