Posted in Talking on a Terrible Tuesday

Talking on a Terrible Tuesday 4: In case you haven’t guessed, I’m back

Hi there internet people, have made it back to work and after 4 hours, there’s been no blood spilled. So there’s that.

Seriously though, am trying to start this year as I intend to go on. Battling my issues with therapy and exercise has done well, but to be honest, I also need to tackle my weight and eating habits, so me and my wife (The Mighty Rosie) have joined a slimming world group. We joined with a  large number, but there were more than a few couples, which made me feel better. Didn’t want to be one man in a room with 40 women. It’s not a sexism thing, I just feel out of place enough, y’know? So today is the start of that journey. I have learned some things, 1: I don’t like raspberries as much as I thought I did. 2: I don’t need to snack quite so much as I thought. 3: I should have already been doing this, but at least I am doing so now.

I am already changing, have made better choices when eating out, passing on huge steaks and ribs, opting instead for grilled chicken and fish and my nibbles for my desk is bananas. I have also been social (I know, it’s ok, I was surprised too) a guy from college reached out and we’ve been e-mailing and shit, but last Wednesday we met up and watched Rogue One (the new Star Wars movie, which my wife was so glad to have avoided seeing) and I really enjoyed it. On the Friday, we went on a trip to Chester to visit an old school comic shop and I have had a lot of fun doing it. While the Mighty Rosie is geek-friendly almost geek-adjacent and while I do have online people who are geeky, it’s been a long time since I have had a friend out in the world who is as geeky as me, something we have in common. It’s nice to have that again, a nice reminder that a lot of the time I’ve been alone has been circumstance and social anxiety, rather than something being wrong with me.

New Year’s Eve was spent at Knowsley Safari park before a quiet night in. Not  a big fan of New Year, but we spent it warm, with loved ones and laughing and told 2016 to kiss our arse. Yes I have been ill over Christmas, yes it’s made me miserable, but I have loved the time I have had with my family away from work. So while I need to be work me for a bit, I am going to attack this year and make it my bitch, more fun, more relaxation and more joy.

I’m glad to be back on WordPress and I have missed you all.

More is coming,

TTFN

 

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

2 thoughts on “Talking on a Terrible Tuesday 4: In case you haven’t guessed, I’m back

Leave a Reply

