Posted in Musing on a Miserable Monday

Munky Musings on a Miserable Monday 3: Cyclops’s wobbly head

Hey there internet people, Munky here. This is where I tell you all the struggles and issues that have come up this weekend, or gripe about the state of the world or some stuff like that.

You know what? Can’t be arsed. I turned 40 on Friday and really enjoyed myself. Had a wake up from my favourite people, my excessively excited son (who was happier about my birthday than his) and the Mighty Rosie. After taking my boy to school I took some birthday money (a weird thing to get after you’re 21) and went on a ridiculous spending spree. After failing to buy any comics or trades (I know, right?) I bought a load of Blu-Rays and some of those Funko Pop vinyl figures.

51ik4herswl-_ac_sl230_ download-1

maxresdefault This one is a bobble head too.

It was nice to just treat myself. Could I have bought myself something useful, practical, or lets be honest age appropriate? Yes. Did I? No. Because I was trying to be nice to me. After a wander around, I went home, watched some Kamen Rider and then went to dinner with my boy, the Mighty Rosie, Mad Hev (her sister) and Hev’s husband and two kids. It was one of the better birthday meals I have ever had. I had a lovely time and really celebrated my birthday. The next day, I had a day with the Mighty Rosie and we went to see Doctor Strange. It was …. ok. It wasn’t the best in the world, but even a an ok Marvel movie is better than a lot of other films. On the sunday, spent loads of time with my son, before back to work this morning. Why am I telling you this? Because it’s what I wanted to do.

Benefits of getting older? Not many from what I can see, but perspective is one. I now realise that the happiest way to be is the zero fucks way. I am an adult, but many (due to my hobbies and overall silliness) may not think of me as a grown up. But how do I feel about it? No fucks asked for, so no fucks given. One of the ego states of Transaction Analysis (Yup, therapy again) is the Parent. That’s the state that tells you off in your head and pushes other people’s ideas and ideals upon you. The more I think about this, the more I realise that my geeky interests are only embarassing, because I allow them to be. I post geeky stuff, write geeky stuff, I wear comic book tee-shirts (got a compliment about one on sat) and even have a comic character tattooed on my right arm. I am very at home with what I like. There’s a ton of comic related merch around the place now, but if there wasn’t so much, I’d still get some.

The point to all this is….. Be you.

Like what you like, do what you enjoy. The judgement of other people can never be as bad as the shit you put yourself through. It’s only their actions that matter. Someone can think you are stupid for liking something, collecting something, reading something etc etc. But here’s the thing, you’re right. Whatever your opinion of something is, if you enjoy it, you’re right. We are surrounded by fears, by worries, by obstacles and by the intolerance and prejudice of others. If there’s something that you enjoy that maybe makes up for it, or distracts you from it, then that’s your thing and you owe no one else. If you have people in your life, share it with them rather than use it to avoid them. If you think that fishing is the best thing, it is. If it’s football (or the American or Australian versions) then you are right. Shit, if it’s My Little Pony, that’s cool too. It’s all ok. This whole acting your age thing is what other people put on you. I am responsible when I need to be, other than that, why should I be any thing other than my silly self? I have never acted my age before, don’t see the point in starting now.

Who and what we love matters, but mostly only to us. It becomes someone elses business when it directly affects others in a harmful way. We shouldn’t feel guilty for liking something, no matter what.

There’s a list of things wrong with me, I could state them, chapter and verse, but who I love and what I like to do isn’t one of them.

There’s a voice on our heads that tell us that who we are and what we are about is wrong. It’s time we turned to that voice and said shut the fuck up!

Whenever I need to remember that, am going to tap the top of Cyclops’ head and watch him bob up and down.

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

2 thoughts on “Munky Musings on a Miserable Monday 3: Cyclops’s wobbly head

Leave a Reply

