Posted in Feelings on a Friday, Mental Health Struggles

Feelings on Friday 19: I can see happy from here, like in the distance

Hey there internet people.

This week has been one of harsh truths, harsh words and the realisation that the battle remains uphill. Last week (    ) I mentioned losing my shit with my son. I won’t lie am ashamed of that. It led to a distance between my wife and I, which could only be crossed by emotional open-ness and objective assessment of how I feel. I like neither of those things.

Words were shared, tears were shed, but I feel better for it all. We got out of the habit of sharing our confusion, so if I haven’t know what to say, I’ve said nowt. This is frustrating to all how care about me.

The Truth, in its unpleasantness is that I am still struggling, not to battle my depression, but overcome it, to live the life that I deserve to be able to live. I’m coping, not thriving, surviving, not living. So by suggestion, knowing that while I don’t always have good ideas, I can always recognise them…… I’m going back into therapy.

This week has been positive in many respects, so I need to keep that going, make a good week a normal week.

As always, I am here and moving forward because of the love, support and at times affectionate haranguing of my amazing wife (The MIGHTY Rosie) because when I have had no fight in me, she has fought for me.

Just a quick one for now, will be back soon

 

TTFN

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

7 thoughts on “Feelings on Friday 19: I can see happy from here, like in the distance

  1. I’m glad you realized depression can be an ongoing battle with long periods of remission and you’re seeking help again. And thank goodness for your awesome wife’s support! ❤️

Leave a Reply

