Posted in Feelings on a Friday

Feelings on a Friday 15: Back on my feet

Hello internet people

Friday is here and the weekend looms.

Y’know what, after a few mixed weeks, I feel that things are beginning to pick up.

Family-wise, things have just got interesting, my brother’s wife is expecting, giving my mother and father their 2nd grandchild. While I hover between being happy for the pair (knowing how much parenthood has enhanced my life) and mildly indifferent, my brother has been mostly absent from my life since my battle with depression began three years ago. The thing of it is, it brought up a load of baggage of feeling over-looked by a more lively sibling years earlier. Damage is done with me, my fear is that my son’s doting grandmother, will over-look him for this new grandchild. Maybe that’s irrational, maybe that’s nonsense, but I no longer bottle up this s**t. So after years of not telling people what I think or feel, I told this to my mother. I was heard, I guess, but it was more important for me in some ways.

My son is getting back to school and getting back into routine has helped, he’s still being ‘challenging’, but nothing that can’t be dealt with and I am enjoying my time with him to and from school. I didn’t realise how much I missed it. Me and my wife (the Mighty Rosie) are talking more than ever, being in each other’s corner, makes most battles seem winnable and the rest, worth fighting.

I have finished therapy and started a night-school course on writing and during my gym sessions, I am now jogging, apparently that’s a thing that’s happening. But needs are and all that.

Also got some free comics recently, now that’s a price that I can live with, a small indie publisher called Comix Tribe, who I follow on twitter and facebook. Despite the small-ness of the company and the roughness of the comics, these were 5 very good comics, a couple of them have collections on comixology, so that was a nice bonus. The first one is below.

oxymoron_tln_1_free

Not especially kid friendly, but I liked it, might put the rest up to be honest.

That’s all for now peoples, more frivolousness soon.

 

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

One thought on “Feelings on a Friday 15: Back on my feet

Leave a Reply

