Posted in Mental Health Struggles

Just keep swimming

I worry about things, I worry too much, always have, probably always will.

I have a therapy session tomorrow and an eye-test, both things I have been putting off, so today I am feeling somewhat anxious. My instinct is to avoid, to defer or something like that. One thing I have learned, my instincts are s**t.

Have started joint gym sessions with my wife (the Mighty Rosie, who is at present feeling less than Mighty) which I enjoy, we support each other in most other elements of life, so this is just another thing (our health and fitness) that we’ve stumbled doing ourselves, but can help one another better. We compete, we give eachother s**t and push each other that little bit further. Reminding me that a lot of the things that stall or block us, are simply in our minds.

With that thought in mind, I was reminded of a post I did a while back about a VERY obscure comic character, the post is here

https://misfitmunky.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/championing-the-over-looked-peter-cannon-thunderbolt/

The interesting thing here, is that it’s about a masked hero, who suffers PTSD, he gets his a$$ handed to him, then can’t bring himself to put the suit on for 5 years, until forced to by circumstance. A theme to the story was the power of the mind over the body, he had a mantra “I can, I must, I will.” Little else from that story stuck as well as those words, I feel tired today, it’s hard to muster up the energy to do anything at all really, but I can, I must, so I will.

Peter_Cannon_02

You are all stronger than you think you are, braver than you believe. If you can need to keep going you can, you must keep going, you will keep going, because through all the s**t in our lives, there is one of those moments, that make you smile.

This morning my son and I passed a small red car with several black polka dots on it, I said it looked like a ladybird and the next few minutes were spent talking about other times he saw a ladybird, after a big hug, he went into school. Those moments are the prize for not giving up. So while I am tired and worn down, my spirit is up and I will get through this day.

 

I’ll be honest, I had no idea what I was writing here, I just want to keep getting something down.

Ttfn internet people.

Author:

Liverpool based family man and unrepentant geek, trying to understand what's going on in my own head, which is not always being a good place to be. Remember always, we live in a world of wonders.

3 thoughts on “Just keep swimming

  1. As someone who lives so much in her own mind, I really appreciate the note that so much of what stops us is in our own minds. Thanks for the encouragement to step outside for a bit and enjoy simple things, like a child’s perspective. A wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

